Staff and organisation news

Staff and organisation news

IVM director Pieter van Beukering was appointed as holder of the portfolio ‘Economy’ at the Wadden Academy. The appointment will take effect on 1 January 2021 and is for a period of five years.

Philipp Pattberg was appointed as director of the interfaculty Amsterdam Sustainability Institute (ASI) per 1 July 2020.

Over the past months, IVM welcomed a large number of new staff members:

Johanna Koehler joined IVM as an Assistant Professor of Environmental Policy and Governance. Sippora Zoutewelle was appointed as the coordinator of the Amsterdam Sustainability Institute. In the framework of the NEWAVE project, three new PhD students have begun their work at IVM: Dona Geagea, Stewart Motta, and Nina Valin.

Alessia Matanó and Marte Siebinga started as junior researchers in the Water and Climate Risk (WCR) section.

Ileen Streefkerk and Rhoda Odongo are new PhD students in the WCR section and Teun Schrieks in the EE (Environmental Economics) section. All three of them will be working on the Down2Earth project. Marijn Ton and Lars Tierolf also started their PhD careers in WCR, working on the COASTMOVE project.

The EE staff was furthermore expanded by the arrival of Elvia Rufo Jiménez as a PhD student and Lotte van Oosterhout as a junior researcher.

In the Environmental Geography (EG) section, Camille Venier Cambron is a new PhD student studying biodiversity conservation in times of climate change.

Ana Cassanti, a new lecturer at IVM, will be supporting courses such as Energy and Climate Governance, Food Governance & Sustainability, GIS, and others.

Sean Goodwin left IVM for Spain to start with his PhD research.