Newsletter No. 1 • June 2016

Staff news

IVM is deeply grieved for the passing away of Eleftheria Vasileiadou, Assistant Professor in the section Environmental Policy Analysis, on 4 April 2016.

Jeroen Aerts succeeded Jacob de Boer as Director of IVM on 1 December 2015.

Roy Brouwer moved from IVM to the University of Waterloo (Canada), where he became Director of the Water Institute. Pieter van Beukering is Roy’s successor as head of the section Environmental Economics.

Frank Biermann moved from IVM to Utrecht University, where he became research professor of Global Sustainability Governance with the Copernicus Institute. Philipp Pattberg is Frank’s successor as head of the section Environmental Policy Analysis. Philipp also became Professor Transnational Environmental Governance and Policy and delivered his inaugural speech ‘Environmental Governance in the Anthropocene’ on 19 February.

Pim Leonards became Professor Environmental Bioanalytical Chemistry and Wouter Botzen has been appointed Professor of Economics of Climate Change and Natural Disasters.

Julia Blasch joined the section Environmental Economics as Assistant Professor. Before joining IVM, she was a Postdoctoral Researcher at the Centre for Energy Policy and Economics (CEPE) at ETH Zürich.

Ayşem Mert has returned to IVM (after doing here her PhD in 2006-2010) as Assistant Professor Global Environmental Governance.

Mark Bokhorst joined IVM’s Water and Climate Risk group. His tasks include the coordination of the Earth Sciences and Economics (bachelor and master) courses.

Peter Robinson joined IVM as a PhD researcher in the area of behavioural economics of flood insurance demand.

Lisa Sanderink joined IVM as a PhD researcher in the area of global energy and climate governance.

Philip Ward was awarded a VIDI grant to examine the socioeconomic impacts of compound river and coastal floods.